Cornelia Funke appointed RSL International Writer

Cornelia Funke appointed RSL International Writer

30th November, 2022

Cornelia Funke has been appointed as one of The Royal Society of Literature’s International Writers!


Launched in 2020 as part of the ongoing RSL 200 festival, the RSL International Writers programme celebrates the contribution of writers across the globe to literature in English through a new, life-long honour, recognising the power of literature to transcend borders and bring people together.


Other newly awarded writers include Anne Carson, Maryse Conde, Tsitsi Dangarembga, Mary Gaitskill, Faïza Guène, Saidiya Hartman, Kim Hyesoon, Yōko Ogawa, Raja Shehadeh, Juan Gabriel Vasquez and Samar Yazbek.


Readers and writers were asked to recommend writers outside the UK for nomination. Daniel Hahn chaired a panel of Fellows and Honorary Fellows including Mojisola Adebayo, Nick Barley, Sharmilla Beezmohun, Maureen Freely, Nell Leyshon, Nadifa Mohamed, Daljit Nagra and Katherine Rundell, who nominated writers for Council to appoint.