Marge Piercy (in conjunction with the Wallace Literary Agency)

Marge Piercy (in conjunction with the Wallace Literary Agency)

Marge Piercy is the author of seventeen novels including the classic Woman on the Edge of Time; seventeen volumes of poetry, a critically acclaimed memoir and four non-fiction books.

Born in Detroit in 1936, educated at the University of Michigan, and the recipient of four honorary doctorates, she has been a key player in many of the major progressive political battles of our time, including the anti-Vietnam war and the women’s movement, and more recently an active participant in the resistance to the war in Iraq.

Praised as one of the few American writers who are accomplished poets as well as novelists, Piercy is also the master of many genres: historical novels, science fiction, novels of social comment and contemporary entertainments. She has taught, lectured and performed her work at well over 400 universities around the world, and her work has been translated into twenty-one languages.




Short stories

  • The Cost of Lunch, Etc., 2014

Poetry collections

  • Breaking out, 1984
  • Hard Loving, 1969
  • 4-Telling (with Emmett Jarrett, Dick Lourie, Robert Hershon), 1971
  • To Be of Use, 1973
  • Living in the Open, 1976
  • The Twelve-Spoked Wheel Flashing, 1978
  • The Moon is Always Female, 1980
  • Circles on the Water, Selected Poems, 1982
  • Stone, Paper, Knife, 1983
  • My Mother’s Body, 1985
  • Available Light, 1988
  • Early Ripening: American Women’s Poetry Now(ed.), 1988; 1993
  • Mars and her Children, 1992
  • What are Big Girls Made Of, 1997
  • Early Grrrl, 1999.
  • The Art of Blessing the Day: Poems With a Jewish Theme, 1999
  • Colours Passing Through Us, 2003
  • The Hunger Moon: New and Selected Poems, 1980-2010, 2012
  • Made in Detroit, 2015

Collected other

  • The Grand Coolie Damn” in Sisterhood is Powerful, 1970
  • The Last White Class, (play co-authored with Ira Wood), 1979
  • Parti-Colored Blocks For a Quilt, (essays), 1982
  • The Earth Shines Secretly: A book of Days, (daybook calendar), 1990
  • So You Want to Write, (non-fiction), 2001
  • Sleeping with Cats, (memoir), 2002
  • My Life, My Body (Outspoken Authors), (essays, poems & memoir), 2015